Monday, December 17, 2012

Road Rage Beatdown

Here is a segment containing a fight during a road rage incident.  The original video, minus the somewhat lengthy commentary, is age restricted (which can be a PIA to view) so here is the news piece.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uhmOzhPRxQs

While the commentary is long and only mildly interesting at best, there are a few pieces of information which are worth getting.  Mainly, the 'victim' has a documented history of road rage incidents.  This seems important to what happens first in the video.  In particular, he seems eager to escalate hostility.

So much so, he doesn't consider the fact that he is outnumbered by two cars and at least four guys - perhaps more, but we never get to see how many guys are in the car with the camera.

In the video, his opponent has two of his buddies standing right there which, it turns out, are more than needed to make his situation turn south.  Go ahead and study the details yourself, I'm sure by now you can identify the technical aspects and mistakes.  No need for a blow by blow analysis, but consider what this guy did not.

He chose to escalate a situation which he was outnumbered, and invite a duel.  It seemed more than just puffing and bravado, he really seemed to want to fight.  I say duel because he made clear signals he was wanted a gentlemanly fist fight to resolve the situation.  He probably didn't consider that once Bald Guy started losing, his buddies would jump in to help.  It didn't even take that long.  His buddy jumped in at the first opportunity to give his friend the upper hand.

While Red Shirt probably thought himself a capable fighter, he was poorly prepared to be dealing with two guys and didn't have any idea what to do from the ground.  Then it turns ugly.  He finally gets knocked out, and his two opponents repeatedly kick him in the head as he is passed out.

Given the viciousness of the street, the guy seems LUCKY to have survived fairly intact (i.e. no lasting brain injury, disfigurement, or worse).  You antagonize animals and get them worked into a frenzy, then hand them easy prey, you are a special kind of idiot and probably not long for this world.

Take note though of what the video doesn't show very well.  These two cars pursued Red Shirt and cornered him, so he wasn't going anywhere.  It's hard to say at that point whether it was a good move to get out of the car or not, but clearly Red Shirt made some bad choices which resulted in a beat down.

Tuesday, November 27, 2012

Kar-azy!

A great video that will amuse and entertain, in a big way!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=PXQF9PJE3J8#!

I had to watch this three times just to purge the laughter.  The repo woman is just too funny.

After full appreciation of the hilarity of the whole thing, I could fully appreciate just how effective the ambush shin kick was for this guy.  Notice his shoes too, they were soft soled lounge shoes.  They were still able to have the big guy holding his leg in pain well after the kick landed.

Notice the leg sweep take down.  He went up the middle (not the best), but the small guy uprooted and dropped a guy probably twice his weight.

The shin kick followed by the head kick on the second guy was an impressive display of effective technique, although I would personally not choose that follow up.  He is younger and more athletic than I am, but look at the opening the shin kick gave him.  Impressive.

That said, the guy made some big mistakes.
1) Starting a fight in the first place.  Why go physical at all?  Not really the point of the discussion, but it is a mistake. Someone is repo-ing your car, work out that they have the wrong car or let them take it.  They have it hooked up and you are not going to get it back.
2) The display.  Dude is jumping all over the parking lot.  Why on earth would you make a dramatic display when you are outnumbered?  If you determine you have a job to do, just get it done.  No displays, taunting, or showboating.  Just get to it.
3) Don't count on the partner not coming to help.  Don't know if the guy thought that because she was a woman he wouldn't have to keep an eye on her.  He admired his handiwork far too long and didn't keep looking around.  She had a wrench and put a quick stop to his performance.

Kinda back to point #1.  Did he really expect to beat up these two repo partners and either get them to unhook his car and leave, or he would unhook his car himself and they would depart?

Still, hilarious video.  Loved the kar-azy quote!

Saturday, November 10, 2012

Just Wow.

Wow.  There is so much in this video (on many topics) I don't even know where to start.  If I were to include my own observations on the many concepts too tasty not to comment on, this post would be longer than my leg.

http://thelibertarianrepublic.com/video-police-allow-mutual-combat-on-streets-of-seattle/

This video has it all: punks, trash-talking, cops, super heroes, and one of the most civilized street fights probably ever put to video.  Enjoy!

Friday, October 19, 2012

Is violent crime going up?

We live in a remarkably peaceful society. Over the course of human history, no period has seen less death, famine, war, and plague than we have right now.

Of course, this is no reason to get complacent.

Real violent people are living in our world right now. Due to the prosperity of the 80's and 90's, our world has actually gotten drastically safer. Through the new millennium, these trends continued.

But things appear to be changing.

http://www.foxnews.com/us/2012/10/18/violent-crime-jumps-18-percent-in-2011-first-rise-in-nearly-20-years/#ixzz29eYuO9Mi

It's very important that you use your best weapon: Your brain.

Chances are that if you say no to drugs, pick your friends carefully, and live in low crime areas, you will not encounter much violence. We can't avoid crime at all times no mater what we do. At some point, a dirt-bag will find you.

It's up to you to train yourself for the potential violence you may encounter. Learn what skills work for your body type. Add some fitness to the mix and you should be able to survive an ugly encounter!



Thursday, October 11, 2012

Knockout Games

http://www.wnd.com/2012/10/black-mob-knockout-games-now-spreading/

The text of the article covers a growing race war in America.  That's politics. What we train for is how to deal with violence, and being ambushed.  Watch the video there and see a real life ambush.

How many times have you walked by a group of teenagers or young people?  You probably had as much concern about a potential ambush as this poor guy did.  Note these kids showed little, if any, indication of an attack.  One step and BOOM.  Knockout.

We talked at length at a recent class about keeping safe space and adjusting when that space in encroached. Admittedly, it is pretty much impossible to role-play scenarios like this but we can learn a lot by watching videos like this to get a handle on how important that safe space is to keep and never to assume you are safe when strangers are close by.

Think what you will about the cultural or racial makeup of our society, or what statistics seem to indicate.  When it comes to navigating in public, keep your eyes open and your close space guarded.  Assume nothing and be careful.

Tuesday, August 28, 2012

A great fitness article

I came across this and thought I would share it with you. I have posted things from Rosstraining.com before, but this is one of his better articles. Hope it offers all of you a suggestion or two, and maybe a bit of inspiration!

http://rosstraining.com/blog/2012/08/28/the-world-is-your-gym-2/

Tuesday, August 7, 2012

Power of Mind

I saw this video today. I cannot think of how it relates directly to Survival Academy, but I think once you watch this video, you will feel that somehow this nut-job is what we strive for in many ways.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oHpmtCG8RwU&feature=player_embedded

Friday, July 27, 2012

Underpants Man

I want you to all watch the video and read the story before we go on. There are many teachable moments in this interesting article.

http://www.news9.com/story/19105268/okc-dollar-general-manager-beats-serial-burglar-with-baseball-bat

First thing that I noticed: Bizarre
What did the robber wear? Underpants on his head. I have HEARD of police officers stopping people for wearing or carrying very strange objects. What comes to mind, is a guy who was dressed like a zombie walking around downtown with a back pack on. The back pack had a Loony Toons style alarm clock strapped to it with a ton of wires going in and out of the bag. The police APPARENTLY stopped him. Sure, it was more than likely some kind of prank, but when someone does something like strap a Loony Toons style bomb to his back, you deserve a bit of extra attention.

The point is, when you see something strange, just bizarre, be on guard. If it's a man with underpants on his face, a zombie kid with a bomb on his back, or perhaps a guy in a movie theater dressed as the joker... you should watch out. Let your instincts take over and decide if you should beat feet or not. Try to really assess the situation and decide what the best course of action is.

2nd: Small Crimes should get your attention.
In this case, it sounds like the robber "smashed in the front door" before going in. It sounds like it was normal business hours, so why would he do that? I think it's either intimidation or just mental deficiency. Either way, a small crime like smashing in a sheet of glass, should fire you up. Time to cut the fence shit and go right into "This world is about to get ugly". Criminals are not known for subtlety. Almost always, they are loud, dressed like shit, or just plain old nasty. Don't let your wonderful fore brain get silenced by those keen animal instincts that you have!

3rd: The "security expert" and I agree: You need a plan.
I'm not sure if this guy is a badass or not, but the security guy and I agree: You need some kind of strategy! The question is, how do you formulate one? First, you need to have your tools available for the situation. You must be physically fit (and carry the proper weapons) to carry out whatever plan you are coming up with. Second, you need to have a core of DRILLED skills that you can preform under pressure. You will be shaking, and scared shitless... even if your a badass. So you need your body to preform on it's own. Thirdly (and most important?) You need to prepare your mind. When you formulate a plan, you must work it over constantly in your head. What will I do if X,Y, or Z happen? How will I react? When your sitting in Perkins, just imagine a gunman robbing the joint. Imagine if the dolt in the both next to you hits his wife, what then? Ignore it? Call the cops? Say something? Imagine if the place has a fire! Imagine if the gal at the table over there chokes! To be prepared, you must think prepared! Practice this stuff everywhere!


4th: "At least 5 times to the head with a baseball bat" might not be enough.
Based off the mug shot, the robber doesn't appear to be some kind of physical freak. He looks like your average scumbag who just got beat with a baseball bat. He looks out of shape, and older. But that didn't stop him from taking 5+ hits from a baseball bat and getting up only moments later. Sure, we are probably talking about someone who has had some chemicals in their head, or perhaps some kind of mental affliction, but THOSE ARE THE PEOPLE WE EXPECT. Very seldom do we have a clean thinking, normal person commit a crime. They will have chemicals on board, or serious mental health issues. They probably have much more street fighting experience than you. I'm going to go out on a limb here and say that Mr. Coates has probably seen the business end of a baseball bat before. This is just an average Thursday to him. So don't think that just because you landed an awesome punch that the game is over. IT'S OVER WHEN THE THREAT IS ELIMINATED. This means you must escape, or shut down the threat. Know the law in your area before you go out trying to defend yourself too. It's expensive as hell to go to jail for 1st degree assault!

5th: This is the south. It doesn't sound like the victim here was arrested.
I'm not 100% sure that he would have remained out of jail in other states. Furthermore, the victim is going to get sued. If not him personally, the dollar general better lawyer up. Up here, Mr. Coates would have a nice man with a J.D. meet him at the hospital and explain to him that the guy with the bat just made him a millionaire. I can assure you that Mr. Coates will make more off the law suit than he ever would stealing DVD's from the Dollar General. My point here is that protecting yourself isn't a virtue to all people in our society. This is why you must be proficient, articulate, and knowledgeable before you go out and do something as "outrageous" as protect yourself.


Tuesday, July 17, 2012

In a Flash

The physical aspects of our training focus on the hyper-violent.  Often included in our sessions are discussions on the mental aspects, such as making assessments and quick decisions to get yourself out of bad situations as soon as possible.  We have discussed many a 'what if' scenario.  Things like: you are alone and approached in hallway, bus stop, bathroom, or dark alley.  What if you alone or with your family, or a knife or other weapon enter the picture.  A bar fight is a situation we talk about a fair amount too.  Perhaps the last post even has you wondering about dealing with a naked zombie attack.

I'd like to throw into the mix another modern phenomenon: the flash mob.  Here is an example:
http://www.wokv.com/news/news/local/flash-mob-overruns-northwest-jax-walmart/nPwh8/

A quick search on YouTube turns up many results.  Sometimes, flash mobs are merely kids and young people showing up to a place dressed alike, or just to hang out for a few minutes.  Sometimes these mobs are benign, and other times not.  Sometimes, significant damage and violence ensues.

Although you may hear about these mobs on the news from time to time, there are many cases of flash mobs showing up and misbehaving.  Here is an interesting website to check out:
http://violentflashmobs.com/

Take note of the locations, a number of them are here in Minneapolis.  You might think that since you don't hang out in Walmart much that you are probably not likely to be caught in a flash mob.  Notice that grocery stores, Walgreens, restaurants, parks, and convenience stores are all common targets.  It is becoming well understood by young people who want free stuff that all they need to do is get a large group together and it is Take Whatever You Can Get Your Hands On Day.  Today it might be Walmarts and convenience stores, but it doesn't take much of a genius to figure out that Best Buy might be a good place to go too.

So take a minute to use your imagination and play 'what if'.  You are in a gas station, convenience store, Walgreens, or some such and a large group of young people suddenly come flooding in.  They are all overflowing with crowd excitement and you can tell this isn't a church outing.  What do you do?  It isn't necessarily time to start throwing elbows and playing your own game of bonkey-konk, but your self-protection nerve starts screaming at you that you are not in a safe place and things could head South in a nanosecond.

Let's say you are in a scenario which looks like the video above.  Are you going to the be the suburbanite scurrying for the door when a group of fun-time seekers say 'Hey whitey, where you goin'?  Let's have us some fun."  Take a look and notice the thrill these kids show (it is a common theme in the vids).  They seem to have the same kind of thrill high brought on with criminal attacks.  They are pumped up and riding adrenaline.  This means they are more aggressive and combative than normal, and have the confidence of being in a large group.  That is why they got together in the first place: the protections of the crowd.  Even if a security camera does get them on video, will the cops really investigate to find any individual?  No, and these kids know it.

At the risk of sounding racist, just take a look at a dozen or so flash mob videos on YouTube.  Do you think for a second you wouldn't stand out like a turd in a punch bowl in one of those flash mobs?  And not even due to race either.  These flash mobs are usually young people who are no strangers to the street.  Regardless of color, their look is drastically different from yours and you stand out.

I believe it is safe to reason that there are many who, in our failing economy, will not hesitate to use this new and easy method for getting what they need.  What if you are in the way of their frenzy?  How would you handle it?

Tuesday, July 3, 2012

Naked Zombie Ninja Vs. Cops

So, this post is going to be about gardening and math.

Just kidding...

It's about Naked Zombie Ninjas! Or... NZN's as they are called on the street.

Let's cut to the chase...

http://www.wptv.com/dpp/news/local_news/water_cooler/zombie-attack-indianapolis-video-david-martin-fights-off-cops-stun-gun-shocks-in-ninja-attack

Here is an objective analysis on why the NJN won against a more well equipped, and higher number of opponents.

1. The NJN was better at getting up
2. The NJN didn't rely on devices or bullshit to win.
3. The NJN (probably due to the drugs in his system) was in better shape
4. The NJN played to win.
5. The Cops didn't know the fundamental rule of Jailhouse fighting: Keep the guy down, and under a toilet if possible.
6. Everyone has a plan till they get punched in the face.
7. When taken down, make sure to land ON TOP of the other guy.
8. A well placed fist is a greater weapon than a taser
9. The slight KO from a fist or a fall will get your ass away from the fight

I can't say enough awesome stuff about this fight. Naked Ninja Zombie. Wow.

Friday, June 22, 2012

Aztec Dancing

So if you've never seen Aztec dancing, here it is: Aztec Dance



This video is better than mine from this year's May Day parade (yes, I am a hippie), so I linked to it.  Turns, kicks from the hip, not snapped, some shifts, etc.

Hope that helps.

Wednesday, May 30, 2012

It's Been Popular Lately

Weird shit.

It's been very popular lately. And I think it's popularity is growing.

The Causeway Cannibal http://www.palmbeachpost.com/news/crime/miamis-causeway-cannibal-was-a-beautiful-person-former-2382128.html

Apparently, authorities have been saying that this is not all that uncommon down there. I personally have never seen cannibalism here, I can assure you that it's not that far off from what I have seen.

To confuse things further, we have this story: http://newyork.cbslocal.com/2012/05/29/police-hackensack-man-stabbed-himself-threw-his-skin-and-intestines-at-officers/

What is going on here?

Are the Mayans right?

Was Night of the Living Dead a prophetic piece of cinema?

None of that really maters, and the reason I am writing this is to let you know how this pertains to you...

1. If being "out" is going to happen to you, deadly force is now on the table.

Bas Rutten said, "Never let them get the choke, because God only knows what they're gonna do to you when you pass out." 
This isn't the ring. This isn't MMA.This isn't sparing with your buddy at class. This is a fight. If you go under, you have a good chance of death... or worse.


2. Pathogens can kill you too. The fight isn't over.

Both of these cases have something in common with a local case: Likelihood of Pathogens. http://www.startribune.com/local/west/148202255.html

When you are in a fight, and someone bites you, is it deadly force? The law is unclear, but it is something to dwell on.

If you get in a fight, and you have any damage done, make sure to call the police and get checked by a Doctor. The reasons for this are two fold. First, you may be hurt worse than you think. Having a Medical Doctor get a jump on some pathogen could save a limb, or your life. The Second reason is evidence. One of the mistakes that Mr. George Zimmerman made the night of his shooting, was that he refused medical attention. Why is this such a big deal? Now we have to rely on grainy security camera footage to try to figure out what the hell happened. Wouldn't it be nice for Mr. Zimmerman's case if he could bring in a medical doctor who actually examined him? Just by refusing medical attention, I think this guy hurt his "self defense" claim.

Stay safe out there, and make sure you are Zombie/Seppuku free!

Thursday, May 24, 2012

For those of you playing along at home...

For those of you who missed class last Sunday, we did the Talhoffer Two-Step half-swording from supported striking:

http://wiktenauer.com/images/c/c3/MS_Ludwig_XV_13_11r-b.jpg


http://wiktenauer.com/images/c/cc/MS_Thott_290.2%C2%BA_87v.jpg


http://wiktenauer.com/images/6/65/MS_Thott_290.2%C2%BA_90r.jpg


http://wiktenauer.com/images/f/ff/Cod.I.6.2%C2%BA.1_18r.png


http://wiktenauer.com/images/0/09/Cod.icon.394a_35r.jpg

For every half-sword technique, think supported striking position like the first plate, above (Full Iron Gate - Doubled)

See y'all Sunday.


Wednesday, May 23, 2012

The life of a nobleman

In class last week, we talked much about historical martial arts. As we were drilling them, some basic fundamental rules/behaviors kept coming up. However, these are not something that I think is specific to Western Martial Arts, but are common in all fighting activities.

When I talk about "The Life of a Noblemen", I'm not talking about what fork to eat with, what dress to wear, or anything like that. I'm talking about how to PRESERVE the "life" of a noblemen, and what someone of Noble life must do to defend themselves and be a quality combatant.

Before the modern era, the only well trained, cultivated fighters were those who could afford it. This almost always meant Nobles/Aristocracy.

The reason?

The majority of the peasantry were laborers. They probably were more sickly than the Nobles, but they were almost surely in better general shape.

Chopping wood builds more muscle than watching your jester.

So as we look back in history, we find many manuals on "How to keep a Noble from getting his ass kicked by the laborer".

In all cultures, the government spent plenty of dough to keep their place at the top. America kinda ruined this whole thing, but that's a different story.

So what does history tell us to do to fight like a "Noble"?

1. Keep your head up
Throughout historical pictures, and literature, posture told the whole story.



As you can see, peasants walked with slouched posture. They kept their heads low, and their ambitions lower. Proper posture is reserved for those with the pointy hats. And only them. Why do you think Bowing is such a big deal? Peasants bow before Nobles. Nobles never bow before Peasants. The life of a Noble means you don't bow to anyone.

How does this apply to martial arts?

A big piece in fighting is putting the other guy in a submissive position to you. Sometimes that's a KO, a Submission, or just plain getting the guy to treat you with more respect (bullies?). So how do the Nobles do this? They get the peasant who they are fighting to look at the ground. And as I say in class, "if I can get you to look at the ground, I will put you there". I did not invent the concept, and it is a resounding tone throughout history.

Nobles hold their head high so they exert confidence too! How to avoid a fight? Look more confident than the next victim. If you look more Noble than the other guy, the other guy will get jumped.

Peasants are distracted, depressed, and always looking for a master. Crooks love peasants.

2. Literacy
This is a strange one that might confuse you. Let me explain.

In history, one of the greatest dividers between the rich and the poor is literacy. The poor can't read, the rich could. The rich could write a manual on fighting, and give it to all their fellow nobles, and circulate the information. The poor had to pass on teachings through dance, folk wrestling, and song.

Nobles didn't ignore the peasant way of doing things, they stole it. They would do the peasant things, AND learn from the finely written manuals! They would take the good from the peasant systems, and encode it in their well written guides, then go beat up peasants. In other words, literacy gives you the best of both worlds: Peasant teachings and Noble wisdom.

How does this apply to us? Simple. Jimmy the Crackhead learned to sling dope and fight from his older brother, his friend at school, and MTV. Billy in the Trailer Park learned to fight from his old man, learned to walk like a rooster from his big brother, and learned to fight the cops from just about everyone else in his complex. What they don't learn from? Books.

We can take their styles, mix them with thousands of years of martial history, mix it with modern thought, watch expensive UFC fights, and continue to blend these together. Nobles have more methods of learning than peasants.

3. The Law
Much like literacy, Peasants don't know the law. They have a moral compass, but other than that they don't have a clue what the law says. It makes things very easy for their rulers: Tell them they broke the law, administer whatever punishment they want, then go away. Taxes, Sumptuary Law, Property Law, Hunting Law were all things that the Nobles came up with to punish peasants whenever they saw fit. In the case of Sumptuary law, they could punish the rich folks, to make them peasants. Brilliant...

How does this apply to us?

As a martial artist, you MUST know the self defense laws of your state/city. There is no point learning to fight if you can't do it lawfully. If a guy throws a bit of garbage into your yard, and you roundhouse kick him for it, you are now the crook. It's important to know the Law! Learn the law, defend yourself, and be a noble!

4. Clothing
With the whole Trayvon thing, folks have been talking about Hoodies way to much. Way way too much, actually. The thing to gather from history (and Geraldo) is that despite what you may think, others pass judgement about your clothing and dress. If you wear a hoodie, there are some members of the public who think you are up to no good. If you wear a suit, there are certain members of society that think you are banker. What do the peasants see? What do the crooks see?

Sometimes it's to your advantage to look like a peasant. Would you go into North Minneapolis at 2 AM wearing a Tuxedo? Would you try to eat at a 5 star restaurant with a pair of shorts and flip flops? Your garments matter. No mater what you think of them, society shall pass judgement.

Furthermore, Peasants wear easy to rip, low quality clothes. Heavy garments were worn by the Nobles to show wealth, and to offer protection in some cases. Does wearing a studded motorcycle jacket offer you protection from attacks? Sure! Do flip flops take away your Savate ability? Yep!

Think about what you put on for clothing each day. Are you looking like a Peasant, or a Noble?


There you have it, some basics on "how to be a noble" when it comes to street survival. I encourage you all to dwell on this and think about what you want to be!

Friday, May 4, 2012

Words from a Predator


An interview with a serial rapist who talks about his methods and even motive.

Although most of our students are men, the insight into how a predator works and thinks is interesting and valuable to one of the types of people we are training ourselves to deal with.

Wednesday, April 18, 2012

Interesting fitness article.

Hey everyone,

I know that fitness is a common theme here so I thought I would post an article that I came across that I thought was very good!

Are you as fit as a WW2 GI? Find out!

http://www.itstactical.com/fitcom/functional-strength-fitcom/are-you-as-fit-as-a-world-war-ii-gi/

Saturday, April 14, 2012

A story from France

"I walked onto the University of Minnesota Football Team my Freshman year. Just showed up for tryouts, and they let me play. You remember __(Famous Uof M alumni pro football player)___? Well, his Sr. year was the season I played. Before he went to the NFL, he played in NFL Europe. We visited him, and we went to a bar in Versailles. He was about 235 lbs, and in the peak of his conditioning. He started running his mouth to some French-guy. The French-guy was about 150, maybe 160 lbs. I don't really know how the fight started, but the French-guy fired a single kick into the thigh of my teammate. He went down like a sack of bricks. Long story short, he ended up having so many broken blood vessels from that single kick, that it turned into a clot. The clot calcified, and ended up taking him out for half a season. We went to France not knowing what the word Savate meant, but that scrawny French-guy taught us."

The above story was told to me by a friend of mine.  It's not EXACTLY word for word, but it's damn close. What's the moral of the story?

1. Just because someone isn't carrying a weapon, doesn't mean that they don't have a hidden way of busting you up.

2. Respect all type of attacks. Just because you don't understand someone's fighting style, doesn't protect you from it.

3. Size matters, but it's not everything.

4. Every fight avoided, is a fight won.

5. Notice how the Frenchman never got his ass kicked by all the meat-heads from the USA? He ran. That's a good idea.

Saturday, April 7, 2012

At What Point?

Just saw this video posted and it contains some interesting items. Although poor quality, I think it shows some excellent behavior indicators we talk about.

http://broadbandsports.com/node/29230

The question which is the title of this post is: At what point do you, the target, decide it's 'Go time'? The guy in the white shirt starts showing predatory and aggressive body language almost right from the start. No need to listen to words spoken (the video doesn't pick them up anyway), just look at what his whole body is saying.

Say you are the guy in the red shorts. Do you decide when he is tracking and stalking you that this guy is a real threat? Do you do it when he raises what appears to be a weapon and puts it in your face? I have a hard time telling, but it could be a small pistol or an object which looks like one. Do you wait to find out for sure? Do you take action when the thug grabs or shoves you?

The target decides to wait until later, and gets the better of his attacker but take notice of the situation. He shifts momentum in his favor not by skill or swift action, but because he has the time to do it. It also appears the aggressor was more bark than bite. Perhaps he felt being big and having a weapon was enough to not worry about his target fighting back. Also notice the victim had friends around and the thug didn't.

My guess is that if the guy in the white shirt was a gang member or just a self-appointed street tough, he was probably a noob who learned a couple of big lessons from that engagement. More than likely, he won't need to learn them twice. He may not be the brightest bulb on the tree, but he probably will be quick to make sure next time that he has more friends on hand than his target and will be taking the first shot.

I digress a bit. What stood out to me so clearly was the stalking, tracking, puffing up, and (evidently) weapon display which made it clear he meant trouble. From the target's perspective, notice the fence he kept putting up and the aggressor moved through. I'm quite certain none of us would wait around as long as red trunks guy did to change the aggressor's mind about pushing the issue.

It is a good thing when these behaviors are known and understood so we can spot them and, should we need to, articulate them.

The other thing I noticed is how long the big fella keeps grasping on. There are several points he could allow red shorts guy to disengage, but he keeps holding on. Perhaps he realizes if he lets go he might get the soccer treatment. Lesson for my mind: Be ready to keep 'guns on' until it is over and the dust has started to settle. It ain't over 'till it's over.

Monday, April 2, 2012

Intel Skills and Knowledge

We talk about observation, awareness, and intelligence in class from time to time. It is difficult to feel like we are making the most of mat time by sharing information like this instead of doing reps. The reps are crucial and I wouldn't want our sessions to be gabfests.

However, I feel the stuff this article brings up is just as critical for our survival as having our motions down pat and probably even more so. Read and consider for yourself.

http://personalliberty.com/2012/04/02/intelligence-gathering-for-personal-safety/?eiid=

This sentence really stood out to me:
"Every single attack you avoid is a battle won."

While we train diligently to act correctly when we do not or cannot avoid the attack, this concept is a key to the art of self-protection. I encourage you to pass this article along to others who may not have the interest or availability to train in the art of self-defense, because reading stuff like this and knowing it is better than nothing.

As for us, we must keep up the training and make sure we do what we can to not use it unless absolutely necessary.

Thursday, March 29, 2012

New Poll / Beat down

Hey everyone!

I wanted to direct your attention to the side bar ------->

I encourage you all to vote!

The Beat Down: Kick-ball style

So while surfing the inter-webs this morning, I came across plenty of news. I won't touch the whole Trayvon case with a 10 foot pole (at this point anyway). There just isn't enough information yet.

But what I will touch on is a case of "Soccer Beatdown".

I saw this video on Yahoo. Many questions and comments came to mind:

http://sports.yahoo.com/blogs/highschool-prep-rally/south-carolina-teen-brutal-soccer-attack-earns-assault-103322121.html

First question: What would you do if this was your kid and it happened next to you?

Second question: What if you were running through the park and saw this happen right next to you with 2 total strangers?

Third question: How would you prepare your child (or a child you care about) for such an attack?

Fourth question: What do you think would have been the final result of this fight if there were no adults around? Like if this was just a pick-up game?

I don't expect anyone to answer these questions in the reply portion, but it would be interesting to discuss. I would like you all to mull these questions.

Furthermore, when you see such things in the news, you should be preparing your mind!

Most people just see these stories and react to them. The become 3rd party observers and will often come to a conclusion. If it's a Trayvon type thing, or a soccer fight, folks just say something like "What a tragety! Person ________ was so out of line!"

Rather that just subject yourself to an opinion such as the average observer, students of the Survival Academy should be putting themselves in the shoes of everyone. Watch all these news stories with the eyes of an actor.

"If I were playing the role of Trayvon,  how would have I acted?"

"If I were playing the role of Zimmerman, how would have I acted?"

"If I observed the Travon/Zimmerman fight, how would have I acted?"

Questions like these are HUGELY important for anyone who wants to consider themselves a martial artist.

Human beings, who are almost unique in having the ability to learn from the experience of others, are also remarkable for their apparent disinclination to do so.  ~Douglas Adams, Last Chance to See


Examine every situation this way. Do not just sit back and soak up the "tragedy". Analyze it, learn from it. Try to correct similar mistakes in your head before they happen to you. 

There is a quote that is out there somewhere, but I cannot find it. It says something to the effect of "The body cannot go where the mind has not".

This of course means that you must IMAGINE and VISUALIZE situations before you deal with them. 

Prepare your mind! It will save your body!

Wednesday, March 21, 2012

How to make a weapon

We commonly debate the usability, and the quality of weapons. My recent poll is an example of this.

Is a club, bat, knife, or gun better? Brass knuckles?

Rather than go though and try to compare the abilities or weaknesses of each weapon, I wanted to write about the one weapon that we all have: Our Bodies.

Our Bodies are the only weapon that you can carry anywhere. Most importantly, your brain.

As Tristan's last article pointed out, your senses are your best weapon. Thinking and reacting before the violence is always your best option. Know when to shut up, know when to run. Pick your battles.

Know what "ground" you are on. http://suntzusaid.com/book/11

However, protecting your brain when violence shows up, is perhaps your biggest priority. You MUST use your body to protect your brain if you wish to survive.

So how do you forge the bag of Water and Carbon that holds your brain in a case of calcium?

1. Train your brain.
2. Weaponize your body.

These are the two elements that are essential to surviving violence.

This blog (and class) is much about both. Study, learning, and training is the only way to develop these. There is no magic pill...

How does a Martial Artist weaponize his body?

Do you sit under nautilus machines? Bench Press? Curls? Expensive gym memberships? Protein Shakes?

You must train your body for the activity you want to preform. If you want to set a bench press record, do bench press.

If you want to have big arms so girls like you, do curls.

If you want to have a social club, get a gym membership.

However, I want to let you know that there is more to weaponizing your body than going to the gym.

For functional combat strength, you must be able to preform powerful moves in EVERY direction. They must be explosive, accurate, and flexible.

There are many resources on this type of strength. Do many different workouts to prepare yourself for survival.

Here are some suggestions for all Survival Students (in no particular order):

-Kettlebells: power, balance, endurance. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ATsOHcuEwIo&feature=g-all-f&context=G23b0da4FAAAAAAAAHAA

-Body Weight Exercises: Power http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1EpiAW7jnVs (Read the book!)

-Body Weight Exercises: Endurance/explosiveness. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkD9LwDBWW0 (btw, if you can do this, you are a badass)

There are countless more exercises that everyone should do, but I wanted to give you all something to work with.

Go forth to bad-asshood!

"When there is freedom from mechanical conditioning, there is simplicity. The classical man is just a bundle of routine, ideas and tradition. If you follow the classical pattern, you are understanding the routine, the tradition, the shadow - you are not understanding yourself." - Bruce Lee

Friday, March 16, 2012

Where is the Danger?

Just ran across this article, and it is worth looking at. Not that it should feed any hysteria or generalizations, but certainly should motivate you when it comes to building your awareness, observation, and self-protection skills.

http://endoftheamericandream.com/archives/as-chuck-e-cheese-goes-so-goes-america

It seems adult violence is spreading, and not just from the places you would think like gang members and street thugs. Fights and beatdowns aren't just for the hardcore anymore, they are becoming commonplace. Yes, even Chuck E. Cheese.

I clicked on the link to do a YouTube search for Chuck E. Cheese fight, and sure enough there are plenty listed. Combine these with the Ihop and McDonald's fight vids we have already seen, and you get the idea that cooking at home is far safer! Now from what I've seen in my cursory glances, the people involved tend to be of a certain economic class. To put it succinctly: ghetto and redneck. It looks like others get caught in mess, but this illustrates that one cannot give every human being the benefit of the doubt that they are willing to act like human adults and not animals.

There are plenty of suburbanites that are willing to get into fights at their kids soccer and little league games too. It appears the veneer of civilized society is thinner than we imagine.

So, be careful and watch where you are. The videos I saw tend to have a few things in common:
1) People assumed since they were in a 'safe' place, that nothing bad would happen.
2) They didn't mind being mouthy and make provocative comments which will escalate hostilities.
3) Paid no mind to the fact they had their kids present.

It's one thing to go into a potentially dangerous situation, but to do so with your family and children is ridiculous. If you want to practice self-protection, it isn't enough to look at the giant smiling mouse logo and assume you are entering a safe area. Look around at the environment and crowd and see what kind of people are there. Let your instincts talk to you and LISTEN!

If you are going to ignore an internal voice, ignore the PC one that is telling you not to judge and treat everyone equally.

While I'm not quite ready to condemn humanity, this article does match what I have seen personally that indicates society is becoming more violent and primitive. If you successfully avoid the places and people who act like animals, splendid. Just be ready when you go out in public. It seems like this sort of behavior is spreading. In a bad economy, theft and violence spreads like wildfire and our economy is poor and headed downward.

Stay safe!


Thursday, March 8, 2012

Defying Gravity

Hey fellas!

I wanted to take some time to post some videos so people can see different gravity defying fighting.

I don't mean flying, paragliding, or any other such thing. I mean combatively defying gravity. How do we equip ourselves with the proper skills and bodies to avoid our foe using gravity against us? How do we keep from being on the ground?

Before I answer this, I think I should take a step back: Why do we avoid gravity?

You can watch COUNTLESS BJJ/GJJ, grappling, wrestling, and other arts that's sole goal is to get on the ground.

Eddie Bravo Vs. Gracie shows this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y4ASonA9t6c

Instructional videos: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M_k_zElz4aU&feature=results_main&playnext=1&list=PLCCE8DD5E6355976D

Wrestling has it too: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UsUclOxuAos

All of these moves if done right (by their definition) ends up with you on the ground when you otherwise wern't. All these experts, martial artists, black belts, and MMA fighters do this, so why don't we?

Do Chris and Reed REALLY think that they are smarter than the whole grappling community?

Answer: Of course not. The reason that we don't advocate these versions of these moves is because our goal isn't to win a match, it's to escape and get as much distance with our assailant as possible. If you are caught on the ground, you are not fleeing, so you are increasing your risk of getting hurt.

Remember, if we break their arm, and they break our arm, we lose. Additionally, the WWE is the only "sport fighting" organization I know of that has the "assholes have friends rule". http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tlgeXT2lpu0

This is why the majority of the throws we teach, keep us off the ground.


You see, if I stay on my feet, and you fall down, a timer starts. If it takes you 3 seconds to get off the ground, I now have 3 second head start. How much is a 3 second head start? In high school, I ran the 40 yard dash at 5.1. Let's call this 5 (I'm much faster now). With that math, that means I can get 24 yards away from you before you can get up. That's enough room to get away from a knife, a blunt weapon, or even a poor marksman. If you can do this, you just saved your life. Sure, you didn't win "the sport match" but your kids, family, wife, and people who love you will be glad. That is a bigger win than the UFC title in my opinion.

We have talked a ton about get ups and getting off the ground.

I wanted to take a moment or two to show you all what truly skilled fighters due to get up (and not so skilled ones who just get it done).

First one: Chuck Liddel.
Chuck is by far the best "sprawl and brawl" fighter to ever be in front of the camera. When he started, he was kinda average at everything (striking, wrestling, etc) by pro fighting standards. He couldn't afford to go to the ground with monsters of the mat like the Gracies. Chuck got really damn good quickly, and ended up being one of the greatest fighters to ever live: mostly due to his anti-grappling skills.

Here's the video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=tfuZapzZsVY#!
I recommend watching the whole thing because it's entertaining and good to watch. But I will point out some highlights that have to do with this article.

0:22- Chuck avoids a quality take down with a solid sprawl.

0:33- Watch closely, get ready to pause it and watch it again. Chuck does a GREAT cram and uses very good strikes to make the guy pay.

0:46 - Chuck is trying to submit a guy. The guy gets out. The result: The guy almost takes Chuck's back. Chuck does a very quick get up. It doesn't look perfect, but it is. You can pause this get up and see some very familiar poses.

0:58 - His opponent goes to the ground after a hit. The hit looked like it missed, and I suspect he was doing it just to get some rest on his back. Anyway, Chuck doesn't mind this, and kicks the shit out of the guy who goes to his back. Imagine with a work boot on?

1:21 - 1:24 - It happens very fast, but his opponent tries to grab Chuck. Big mistake. Chuck defeats the attempt without much effort and the guy receives a punch for his effort.

1:31 - Another take down attempt on Chuck. In Survival Academy Class, he would have ran. In this case, he blasts the guy in the head.

The video goes on and on. I would write blurbs about every 10 second clip (in case you haven't noticed).

Chuck teaches the Sprawl: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=wyhAm8o_Tmo

High level wrestling:
This video is of one of the Big Ten wrestling Championship matches.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5cV9c7Bi3TQ

1:00 to 1:15ish, you can see the wrestlers each doing a series of get ups, get outs, stand ups, hip heists, and other AMAZING wrestling. They wen't outside the ring, but the guy on the bottom was clearly getting out.

1:30 is another amazing piece of work. Starting from "referee's position" the guy on the bottom is out in less than a second.

3:50 another referee's position. Watch the hip movement and get up skills. Really really high end stuff.

7:54 starts a little exchange that has good bit of get ups.

Once again, the whole fight is worth watching. Very very good wrestlers and it's something that you could benefit from learning about.

Now that you have seen some high end get ups, I wanted to show you a low end get up, that simply got the job done. And really, that's all that maters.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=07Lc--cRps8

Was it pretty? Was it clean? No... It got the job done. There was some technical aspects to it, but basically he got away with shitty form due to the poorly skilled attacker.

See you all at class!



Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Targeting and the Human Anatomy Part 6: Groin

If you are like me, you winced a bit about this topic.

The pain is intense, it's nasty, it's dirty.

Then why would I make it a Green Target?



Simply put, it's too inconsistent.

Don't get me wrong, its a GREAT target. Use it when appropriate every time.

As Bas Rutten says, "It's the most under estimated strike".

If you have ever watched America's Funniest Home Videos, you have seen the ol' nut shot on video. We all know what happens.

If you have played sports or rough-housed, you have probably been hit there a time or two.

For purposes of this chart, I had to make it Green. Although painful beyond anything, the groin shot rarely causes a true mechanical failure. That area is very resilient. It's got a good blend of bony mass and flexible parts.

Where does the inconsistency fall into it?

1. Armor. I have seen belt buckles, heavy pants, long coats, and other items that protect this spot very well. Of course, this isn't the intention of these products, but they are out there.

2. Gender. I know this hurts women. A lot. But I'm not sure if it's as consistent or as vile as it is on a man. A quick youtube search comes up with millions and millions of views of men getting hit in the groin, but none of women. This is one of those things that nobody will ever really know. I have never been a woman, and no woman has ever been a man... Sort of. With today's medical procedures, there are a fair bit of "men" without these parts, and a fair bit of "women" with these parts. Of course this is a very small percentage, but it is something  to consider. I have heard friends of mine say stupid things like, "Pfft. I don't need martial arts, I'll just kick him in the balls". Are you sure about that?

I'm not really sure if I need a specific description of what this is like, or what organs are affected... This is kind of one of those things that speaks for itself.

Just be cautious and use it appropriately.

Monday, March 5, 2012

Decision Time

Time for a Vs. battle.

This is one of these metaphorical, bull shit, unscientific fights. See if you can relate...

Fighting out of the Red Corner:

This man has never fought professionally. He  has never been inside of a fight school. He holds a GED that he received in prison.  He stands 5 foot, 10 inches tall, weighs 180 lbs,



In the blue corner, this man has spent no fewer than $5,000 dollars on martial arts training. He may or may not hold several multi-colored belts that wrap his pajamas nicely. He has a 9-5 job, a higher education degree, and hasn't been punched since the 4th grade. His parents were married and he always got nice gifts for Christmas.

He stands between 5 foot 8 and 6 foot 3 and weighs in at about 190 lbs (because you know, working out is hard and those damn Christmas cookies were so fucking delicious).

He attends Survival Academy 3/4 Sundays a month...



Who are you betting on? Who is going to win this fight?

Do we really think that this fight will be sanctioned? Will both fighters play by the rules? "Red corner" has done no fewer than 1000 push ups a day in prison (when hes not playing basketball, lifting weights, or boxing in the courtyard that is), while our Blue corner man is "too busy" to get in his reps.

Which one of these fighters is jacked up on an illegal pain killer? Which one has a "Ache in their back from an injury from 5 years ago"? Which one has actually hurt someone before?

The fact of the mater is, that our man in the Red Corner is nothing out of the ordinary. Sure, this particular asshole might be a bit more trained than the average dipshit, but you can bet your ass that he also isn't the most dangerous one either.

The predator doesn't care about weight class. He had to master the get up from the time he was 6 years old and his options were to let his drunk ass dad (who was a felon himself kick the shit out of him) or get up and run. Sure, his dad was an experienced fighter and out weighted him by no fewer than 100 lbs, but fear and pain are powerful motivators.

Why learn to box when cold-cocking the guy who is walking out of the store checking his voicemail delivers the same results?

Simply put, the choice is yours. Our man in the Blue corner still has a chance... he's smarter, in overall better health (not to be confused with condition mind you), and has learned a thing or two from people who have fought against our guy in the Red corner plenty of times.

What is your decision going to be?

Just to give you more a view of your "red corner" opponent: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SatKJZcLDQk

Vs MMA figher... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H30CiRXQoRY&feature=fvst

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lf_57J_pkXk

39 minutes of people more well prepared than you? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8tANR5UZYU

Friday, March 2, 2012

Violent Encounters

Any time you get a group of guys together (usually guys who do this...) and the topic of martial arts/ fighting comes up, people get weird. Guys all have complicated theories and elaborate Bruce Lee/ Chuck Norris fantasies about what actually happens in a fight, whose style is more effective, and what they'd be able to do in that situation. Frankly, it's not much different than listening to a couple of stoners watching Animal Planet opine whether the polar bear or the elephant would win in a fight.

So, rather than focus on this sort of BS, you should read about what actually happens in real life.

This is a US DOJ publication from 2006 outlining a number officer/ offender violent encounters based on reports and interviews with BOTH officers and offenders.

Remember Reed and Chris talking about how the guy jumping you has probably been doing this all his life:

The offenders generally had been exposed to more overt violence at an earlier age than had the officers. The offenders were more readily able and more willing to use force, including deadly force, than were the officers. When contemplating the use of deadly force, the offend- ers also had fewer constraints placed upon them than did the officers.

There's lots of good stuff in here; I'll post more after I read the whole thing. I'm primarily interested in effects of stress and trauma on perception, memory, offender behavior and how to train realistically.

Highly recommended.

Too Many Posts?

So I have posted a lot recently. Dare I say, too much?

There is a ton of good information in my previous posts, so I highly recommend you check those out.

I saw this video (apparently 21 Million others did too), and I couldn't help but post it.

This is the CLASSIC street fighter behavior. Remember, this is a CLEAN fight. Nobody used weapons, and there was no cold cocking. But watch the skills of the Security Officer and the skills of the "other guy".

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OdfSLnKMqq4&feature=related

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Survival Fitness: Essentials

I wanted to take a moment to give you all some fitness and drilling tips.

Lately, folks have been asking for some advice on some basic drills and workouts to be done at home.

I have made several recommendations in class, on the blog, and other places, but alas, folks want MORE!

I will eventually make a permanent list that will probably be pasted up on our blog so that it won't just get scrolled out like the others have.

Drills:
GET UPS!!!!
Every one of you should have this mastered. Drill this more than anything, then drill it again. There are several ways to do this. I dare you to try to google "Proper Turkish Get up" or "Jujitsu Get Up". There are thousands of videos out there, all done by "masters", blackbelts, or other gurus. Frankly, I haven't seen a video out there that has it exactly how we teach it, but you can find good ones out there. I advise you all to drill this till your eyes cross.

Duck Walk:
This is a great exercise, as well as a drill. There are many ways to do this, but here is the most traditional for wrestling: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DbVP4vDffu4
Or this works too. It's the same move, just slightly different.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8XxvEaUWNsg

Advanced---- Add some "take downs" or "shots" into your drill. I know this video is called "get up progression" but it's not our kind of get up. Watch this video to get some more advanced Duckwalk/Fitness ideas. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BfMM476ApA4

Shadow Boxing:
We have talked about this for a long time, and everyone should be doing this multiple times a week. The guy in this video is clearly teaching ring boxing, and nothing that we teach. However, the words he says apply. Try to avoid doing his style of boxing, and stick to the strikes you know. Also, I don't like his footwork, so don't do that... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUJDKUDI0cY

Heavy Bag:
If you have one. Use it. If you don't have one, Get one...

Heavy bags are valuable for so many things. Ground work, stand up, and of course, striking. Work your punches, mechanics, grapples. There are many ways to work a heavy bag, but I will only cover a couple:

1. Methodical, slow, patterned drilling. This is great to master strikes you know. Do each punch 10,000 times and you will be close to learning something. Watch George Forman. Keep in mind, he has done much more than 10,000 but would still work the heavy bag slowly for hours. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZZtZlTIglDU

2. Footwork, weight, and speed training.
In this video, Jack Dempsey works the heavy bag. He stands where the heavy bag dangles and lets the thing constantly push on him. Every punch is up hill. For our students, I would add in head covers, elbow spikes, and other drills. Also, he practices moving around it, level changing, bob/weave and others.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aJkiwu_04dw

3. Grappling. This video isn't dedicated to just heavy bag stuff (it has much more in it) and although his point is BJJ/MMA, you can still use this video to get ideas for how to do our stuff. While he focuses on armbars, you should focus on getting up, just as an example. The slams, and other drills he do is HUGE. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_k5uyGii33c&feature=related

Note: With all this stuff, a Bob, or another striking tool is very helpful too. Heavy bags themselves arn't the best for our kinds of striking. Use what you have... Even if it's tires... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FM5fLpdJKRE&feature=related

Sprawling:
We have covered it in class, and the video is a "mat wrestling" sprawl, but it's very similar. Do this drill till you puke out your gut fat and you have a sixpack. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4j8F4bi5QQ8
In our system, we try not to belly bounce so much, and stay off the ground a bit more, but this is a great way to train it. Note: his footwork is arguably the best ever. With the sprawling drill, you will see much of our "ground/wrestling" footwork in his other video. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7eFdRJmRYeQ&feature=related Note: This is obviously not the exact stance you want when your standing up, but the footwork concepts are good. The drill is awesome.

Those are the drills we will start with. Everything else should just be a variation on what is already here. The last thing I will leave you with is some pure exercises to do. Hindu wrestling has probably the best overall mechanical application to the Survival Academy. This video has exercises that will not only make you a healthy badass, but they will significantly help you in class. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p0NLilpx1l4&feature=related

Enjoy!


Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Announcements, Suggestions, and Risk.

Hello everyone!

I just wanted to write a quick blog posting about some stuff that's going on on the blog and in class.

First:
I am almost done with my "Targeting and the Human Anatomy" series, and I already have some other good series planned. Stay tuned for more information on this! We are going to be having some fun!

Second:
We had a productive class last week. I know that everyone who came got new perspectives, and mindsets about their technique. Folks have been making good progress. However, it's not all sunshine and rainbows...


“I fear not the man who has practiced 10,000 kicks once, but I fear the man who has practiced one kick 10,000 times.” ~Bruce Lee


This quote is something that Chris and I have talked about for years.... about 8... We are trying to build a system based on the most effective, powerful, and biomechanical motions you can do. No mater if it's punching, throwing, or ground fighting, all of our stuff should have the same flavor.

A big weakness in our class is the reps. We don't get enough. All of you NEED to go home and drill this stuff on your own time. We don't meet often enough to really get in our "10,000 kicks" in class. Where do Chris and I get our kicks in? At home. We drill, exercise, study, and read every day to perfect our skills.

I don't think we are perfected yet, which is why I keep training for perfection.

Do you want perfection?

Are you willing to sweat?

Are you willing to put in the time and effort?

If you want to get better, you HAVE to get your "10,000 Kicks" in. Period.

Which brings me to my next announcement:
As many of you know, every Saturday morning, friends of mine show up at my house and we work out. Often times, they bring their kids. George plays with their kids, and everyone has a great time. Kids are running around playing, and adults are having fun getting the Crisco out of their pores. We do everything from traditional exercises, boxing drills, wrestling, jujitsu, or anything else that's fun. Sometimes we just do sprints in the form of football plays and have fun.

I want to welcome you all to join me. Because I don't have a monstrous house, it's a bit full with 5 kids, and 3 adults playing in my basement.

With the spring coming quickly (did it ever leave?), we will be moving outside again.

When that happens, I want to invite you all to come "play" with us. We get a good work out in, drill, and of course have fun. Bring your kids, or anyone else who wants to get some exercise.

The last item is assessments. How are you coming along in class? In your physicality? What does Student B think is your weakness? What does Student A think is your weakness?

I want to offer you all the opportunity to get a free assessment.

If it's something your interested in, I want you to email me and ask for an assessment. I will give it to you boldly, truthfully, and constructively. Chris and I would be happy to tell you what your strengths, weaknesses, short comings, and successes are. I will give you as much advice as you want, and give you drills, exercises, and suggestions to meet your goals.

Of course, it's a risk to ask for another person's opinion. It's scary to learn your weaknesses. It's scary to have your own opinion be called into question.

If your interested in taking this Risk, write an email to me (and whoever else you want to ask). In your email, feel free to ask specific questions. The more you ask for, the more we can give you.

See you in class!

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Are You Ready?

Today's note is a light hearted interlude to our normal more intense flavor. We talk a lot about being ready and prepared for anything. Mostly, that anything comes in the form of level of violence rather than just plain strangeness.

Here is an example of the sudden emergence of the strange:
http://sacramento.cbslocal.com/2012/02/26/police-naked-man-arrested-after-fighting-with-officer/

Keeping focused through nonsensical situations as well as the full on chaos of hyperviolence seems the essence of self-defense and self-protection. Be ready to stay focused regardless of the seeming absurdity of the situation.

A great line from the movie Hoosiers: "Look, mister, there's... two kinds of dumb, uh... guy that gets naked and runs out in the snow and barks at the moon, and, uh, guy who does the same thing in my living room. First one don't matter, the second one you're kinda forced to deal with."

Wednesday, February 22, 2012

Making the most of your situation.

I found a video on Youtube. The video is highly inspirational, and I thought I would share it with all of you.

In no way am I suggesting that they are living a superior life to us, but I think in many ways this is better than the lethargic lifestyle that so many people live.

I suggest you all watch this video. Look for their conditioning, combat styles, honor, and dedication. With little or no money, these people have forged themselves into bad-ass machines.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=so43Gndfegk&context=C383256dADOEgsToPDskKTyby3Vqsd-R4vlGP2bL37

Monday, February 6, 2012

Predator's Ambush

If dictionaries allowed videos instead of photographs next to their definition, here is what would be next to the term 'urban ambush'.


Even the setup is captured on video! Obviously, the target was chosen in advance. It isn't clear how far in advance, such as when the victim went into the store or whether he was targeted earlier and the predators waited for this opportunity for a clear approach from the blind side.

The flying forearm to the back of the head both stuns the victim and drives him into the other two assailants hidden from initial view.

Notice how the victim didn't pay one whit of attention when coming out of the store (nor did his completely useless friend) which gave him no chance of noticing the trap he just walked into.

On an interesting note: a tire as an improvised weapon. Thug number three throws it on it him, which probably does little damage. However, the tire and victim are shoved into a pile. How easy would it be to regain your feet with a tire below you and a beating on top? I wonder of the attackers thought of that or if that was an accidental benefit.

Friday, February 3, 2012

Targeting and the Human Anatomy Part 5: Floating Ribs/Organs

Welcome to another installment of Targeting and the Human Anatomy!

This portion is going to be on a region more than a specific body part. The floating ribs are the "short ribs" that do not fully connect to the sternum. They are the portion of the rib cage that is separated by the Costal Angle.



As you can see, I have put these spots as "Blue Targets".

The ribs themselves break much easier than the higher ribs that connect directly to the Sternum. They are painful, and can cause further damage to the organs under them.

As we have discussed, the pain isn't what will stop someone who is jacked up on drugs, drunk, or just flat out crazy.

As we have also discussed, there is a fairly good chance that your attacker will be one of those things.

So why go for them?

Well, there are powerful organs under them.



I'm not going to go into EVERY organ and why they are important, but I will cover the three most important (for our purposes anyway).

On the right side of your body, just below the lungs, is your Liver. This of course is like your body's bouncer for toxins and poisons. He is big, mean and very powerful. If you can hit it with enough force, the Liver will rupture or send significant nerve signals around your body. This will result in a mechanical failure. The most popular instance of this is probably the ever popular Bas Rutten, Frank Shamrock fight. In the words of Bas himself, "I'm going to go after his liver, because that's the most painful knockout there is."

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JBUJa7ndYL0

The second organ I'm going to talk about is on the Left side of your body. This nasty lil bugger is your Spleen, and it can rupture fairly easy. Think of your spleen like your liver's brother. It's loaded with blood. And as we have talked about before, anytime you mess with blood flow, you are messing with the hydraulic function of the human machine. The following clip explains it more.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C2JhhzYqaB8&feature=related

A very important thing I want to point out is HOW HE DESCRIBES TO THROW A PUNCH THAT DIG'S IN!!! Watch the X type of pattern he uses, and watch the shoulder whirl and body movement.

Now, one thing they didn't mention much of in that clip is the broken rib.

Broken ribs hurt, but what is their main function for us?

The Lungs. The lungs are the third and final organ we will talk about. If you don't know what your lungs do, go back to your elementary school and demand your education back.

Where this maters for us is a very common sports injury. Punctured Lung. Upon breaking the rib, the broken piece has a high likely hood of puncturing a lung. It should be fairly self explanatory how that can end a fight.

When you hear that a athlete has a "Punctured lung" it's almost always due to a floating rib. When you look at the Spleen video again, you will see the broken rib.

You can find 100 blogs/websites about punctured lungs/broken ribs. They span from falls in the shower, to bar fights, to motorcycle crashes. Here's a pretty good one I found.

http://herpolhode.com/rob/xray.html

I think that is a fair example of what sort of medical issues can arise from a punctured lung. Granted, this wasn't a product of violence, the damage can definitively be recreated.

See you at class!

Monday, January 16, 2012

I Can't Believe This is Happening...

Just saw this video, and it is quite disturbing. I'll warn you that you may get a feeling of disgust as it goes on (and it goes on a while) at what these animals do.

http://www.liveleak.com/view?i=dc7_1326772255
- Edited with new link due to YouTube removing video for violent content

A few things popped out at me, the major one being something that seems to be consistent with victims of violent exchanges. They don't believe what is happening. It seems going beyond knowing what to do, but failure to even comprehend the amount of danger they are in. The poor kid doesn't seem to fathom that he is in an alley getting the his a$$ kicked and beaten by thugs. He eventually gets to his feet, and believes he can try to reason with a bunch of dudes in masks that have been relentlessly pounding on him even after he has completely submitted.

Only after more than three minutes of this does he get the bright idea to use the Nike defense and haul a$$ out of there at top speed. Up until that point, he seems to be in complete denial of the situation.

While I have every faith that none of us would respond the way this poor kid does, it pays to see up close just what disbelief can result in. For example, trying to reason with animals who have proven they are beyond listening and are only interested in the joy ride of beating you to a pulp. That kid is lucky his attackers lacked competence or he'd be toast.

A few minor points that I noticed:
- This kid takes what looks like a serious beating, but can still get up and run. He got some cuts and probably some bruises, but he is still able to move after an extended beating. The attackers are obviously amateurs, but still. Know that you can take some shots and you can (and SHOULD) keep going.
- Make your decision to get out quickly, as in as soon as things look like they MAY go South. There is nothing to be gained by delaying your departure. I'll grant you that the video does not show the setup. How long do you look at a group of guys in masks and wonder if this is a situation you should be far away from? If the victim's naivety is any indication, then this kid probably had no alarm bells going off when he saw masks, nor when he was led or coerced into an alley, or starting to get pushed, etc. It may have been a quick ambush instead. In either case, he didn't make the decision to beat feet until far too late.
- The attackers lost ambition to chase very quickly. Not sure other attackers would lose the will to chase so soon. After all, the thugs spent a good amount of time venting their anger and beating on the kid. Perhaps they would have been more motivated to chase if they lacked getting at least some satisfaction. However, is it wiser to take to running before getting a five minute beating or after? That is, if you can get up at all.

Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Something to consider.

Hey everyone!

I know all of you are passionate about training and getting better. I get many emails/phone calls each week from you guys, asking about different training ideas or ways to get better.

I saw this post on rosstraining.com and thought I would share it. The drill is pretty cheesy, but it would greatly help with coordination. The punches are not realistic, but that shouldn't detract from the simplicity, and value of the drill. Take a look!

http://rosstraining.com/blog/2012/01/11/tennis-ball-reaction-training/

Monday, January 9, 2012

Fighting in a phone booth, bathroom, or laundry room.

I got a great article from Mark this morning from the Star-Trib. I am torn about this article because it is a AWESOME article, with a real hero story, BUT it was sent to me instead of being posted on the blog by one of our students! I would have loved to see his opinion on this article.

Shame on you Mark!

I often see people at the gun range practicing "home defense" shooting. They draw a holstered weapon, set the target 50 feet down range at a well lit target. The body they are shooting at is typically a novelty "terrorist of the month" or some barely human cut out.

I often time look at these marksmen and ask, "What the hell are you training for?"

My point is this: If you are serious about a martial art or self defense, you MUST train for reality.

What hallway in your house is a 50 foot clear shot?

What infiltrator is going to stand right in front of you in a well-lit hallway?

Do you normally wear a holster in your own house?

Etc...

These questions rattle through my head every time I see a martial arts class.

Bunch of pajama wearing kids in horse stance punching from unrealistic positions into the air.

Then, I see Jimmy-The-Crack head. Jimmy goes around his kitchen and practices slaping his old lady in the tight quartered kitchen, then his kids, then when the cops show up, Jimmy has his warm-up done, and he fights them too.

When that is all said in done, Jimmy goes to jail, beats up his cell mate, goes into segregation, only to practice waving his hands like he is talking, and springing punches out of his "talking hands".

Who would you rather fight?

Of course, I think people hurting other people (especially their family) is disgusting, and I would never encourage it. But the training theory is much better than the stock broker who goes to Pajama Party with his kids and practices punching air/boards/padded folks at maximum range.

How would your training fair in this article?

Could you be as heroic as these guys?

As Giles says, "There's nothing better they could have done."


http://www.startribune.com/local/west/136920153.html

Thursday, January 5, 2012

Court Security

Following up on Reed's last post, here's another "what if" that's something I think about each and every Monday at Hennepin County Division III (the "Ridgedale" courthouse ):

A Hennepin County judge and vocal critic of a lack of weapons screening at three suburban courtrooms says he is refusing to hear cases at them until stronger security precautions are put into place.

"I'm tired of driving to Brookdale, the courtroom everyone who knows agrees is the most likely place for a shooting or violence to occur, and not know whether I will be carried out in a body bag that day," District Judge Lloyd Zimmerman wrote in an e-mail to his judicial colleagues Wednesday, citing the high number of domestic violence cases at that courtroom.

"I ask that you stand in solidarity with me. Do not go. Don't take my place."

The rest of the article:

I'm not ready to quit my job over this issue or otherwise raise a stink (I knew what I was getting into), but I have spent a lot of time working out my safety plan for the courtroom and - equally importantly - the hallways and parking lot.

Discuss...

Wednesday, January 4, 2012

There you are...

So there you are at some local eatery. Perhaps you are eating alone, or with a friend, or even your family. You notice that a group of "Asians" have been talking to a group of "Blacks" at a separate table in the same dining room.

You carelessly drop your napkin.

You bend over to pick it up, and you hear a crashing sound. You look up and this is what you see:

http://www.thesmokinggun.com/buster/viral-video/montreal-restaurant-brawl-756092

Now, this is in the far away land of "Canada" that nobody has ever been to. But as the article points out, this can happen in our flawlessly perfect United States of America.

Some questions for you:
1. Where do you wanna be?
2. How important is a head cover here?
3. How the hell do you get your family/friends/self out from between two angry mobs?

I can tell you right now that if both exits are blocked by 10+ violent people a piece, you have only two options:
1. Hide and hope the bad men go away soon
2. Plow through one of the lines with enough force to be sure that you clear them in 1 shot.

If 2 fails... You are probably the next one to get a piece of lumber across your back...

More to think about fellas!

See you at class!